Then I knew

This performance exhibits one of the most evocative chamber music ensembles (flute, viola, and harp). Claude Debussy confronted unique textures and elevated to the mainstream this formation by composing one of his best-known pieces. Takemitsu's piece "And Then I Knew 'Twas Wind" was inspired by Debussy's sonata. This concert is completed with the Jolivet trio and the explosive work for solo flute by the American composer Marius Diaz de Leon accompanied by a live painting by Marieken Cochius commissioned by CreArtBox⁠.

Petite suite for flute, viola & harp


Culture Lab, New York


Andre Jolivet

Petite suite
for flute, viola & harp

Mario Díaz de León

for flute solo & electronics
live painting video by Marieken Cochius

Claude Debussy

Second Sonata
for flute, viola & harp

Toru Takemitsu

And Then I Knew ‘Twas Wind for flute, viola & harp

Video art by Sara C. Sun, video artist

In partnership with