Fragile Form

Presented on September 27, 28 & 29 2022 at the Blue Gallery, Manhattan

Fragile form is a 3 part "visual concert", a type of performance that most defines the identity of CreArtBox. Visual art and theatrical design techniques enhance the audience's listening experience of classical and contemporary music while respecting the original musical composition. The music serves as the creative anchor of the performance while the visual component builds the dramaturgy arch that unifies the performance into a single piece of art.

Designed as a trilogy titled "Fragile Form: I Equilibrium, II Rupture, and III Metamorphosis", it explores the fragility of our surroundings, defined by the intervention of action and fueled by time. Objects, emotions, and thoughts alter their destiny suddenly, switching from a complete state to a broken state in a fraction of a second. Should we find the equilibrium to avoid any change? Are we ready to modify our behavior and learn from the past? ⁠ Do we have the courage to transform ourselves and find new perspectives?

This performance has been created by musician and visual artist Guillermo Laporta, pianist Josefina Urraca and multidisciplinary artist Sarah K Williams with music by Annamaria Kowalsky, Saint Saens, Caroline Shaw, Enrique Granados, Bryan Wysocki, Nico Muhly, Mozart, Michel van der aa, Tatiana Nikolayeva, Hannah Selin, Judd Greenstein, Shostakovich, Celeste Oram, Ravel & Nadia Boulanger, played by violinist Emilie-Anne Gendron, cellist Julia Yang, violist Mathew Cohen, pianist Josefina Urraca and flutist Guillermo Laporta.

Hannah Selin | Dream Journal
Hannah Selin | Dream Journal
Tatiana Nikolayeva | Trio Op.18 | Flute, viola, and piano
Nadia Boulanger | 3 pieces for cello and piano | 1st movement
W.A. Mozart | Trio in E flat major K.498 | Flute viola and piano (transcribed)
Enrique Granados | Piano Quintet in G Minor Op.49 | Flute, piano and strings (transcribed)
Celeste Oram | Toccata & bruise

Blue Gallery, New York

Emilie Anne Gendron, violin
Mathew Cohen, viola
Julia Yang, cello
Guillermo Laporta, flute
Josefina Urraca, piano
Sarah K Williams, Mise-en-scène
Tao Ho, visual artist
Mary Taylor Hennings, dance
Guillermo Laporta, light, sound and projection design

Part I: Equilibrium

Annamaria Kowalsky
Heart Meditation
Saint Saens
Piano Quartet in E major
Caroline Shaw
Thousandth Orange
Enrique Granados
Piano Quintet in G Minor Op.49

Part II: Rupture

Bryan Wysocki
We Can Learn Me together
Nico Muhly
Etude 1
Trio in E flat major K.498
Michel van der AA
Tatiana Nikolayeva
Trio for flute viola and piano Op.8
Hannah Selin
Dream Journal

Part III: Metamorphosis

Dmitri Shostakovich
Piano Trio No 1 in C Minor, Op.8
Celeste Oram
toccata & bruise
Maurice Ravel
Piano trio in A minor
Nadia Boulanger
3 Pieces for cello and piano, No.1 Modere

Funded by

This project was made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature.